Day 102 ~ FRUGAL not cheap

I have had this little mixer for damn near 30 years.  I received it as a gift when I was probably around ten because I wanted to learn how to cook.  So my parents ponied up and bought me this little guy.   He didn’t have many speeds or any cool attachments but he got the job done.  Now obviously I never became a baker or chef and for good reason because even though he did his job that didn’t necessarily translate into me doing mine but we had some good times.   I used to make cookies for my dad’s annual “Cookie Run” he would go on a long Christmas run with his buddies and I would supply them with the necessary cookies for after the run.   I learned to make my grandma’s Christmas divinity and I have made countless cookies, cupcakes, and cakes for Chris and the girls.

Besides my almost 40 years worth of pictures, my grandma’s rocking chair and a trunk my mom owned this is probably the oldest thing I have held onto (I am the exact opposite of a hoarder and I sometime purge to a fault) but for some reason this mixer made it out of dad’s house into my first apartments, a move out to Seattle, back to Lincoln, and finally landed here in Colorado.  I kind of thought we would grow old together.  I mean really  I have been to the stores and I have been tempted by those cool $200 red mixers you know the ones Opera gives away on her “My Favorite Things show”.  But really how could I give up this little guy we had been through so much together and he always got the job done.  But this weekend he unfortunately mixed his last fruit dip and it’s time to move on.   I probably won’t be buying that $200 mixer (all though tempted) because I am still frugal but I do hope I can find a good little mixer that will take me another 30 years.

I know this little story has absolutely nothing to do with Chris or our deployment in fact I can count on one hand how many times Chris actually used this little guy and he had zero attachment to the mixer but this is the kind of day-to-day stuff that happens.

One thought on “Day 102 ~ FRUGAL not cheap

  1. Hey babe, I know this response is completely off topic, but today I received your package. Thank you for the goodies. But what’s important is to let you know that after reading Olivia’s Father’s Day presents, I broke down and cried, I was so move and what she wrote, I could not hold back the tears. Please tell Olivia that daddy got her gift and thank you. I am truly blessed to have a family like mine. Love Chris

    PS…Your package will be mailed out tomorrow…:)

Leave a Reply

