Day 105 ~ Until we meet again

Today I give praise and my deepest respect to without a doubt the greatest women I have ever had the pleasure of knowing and growing up with.  Yesterday my Grandma Camp passed at the age of 95 and she will truly be missed.    I will whole heartily admit she was favorite of favorites.   I loved her because she never passed judgement and loved everyone and treated everyone with respect and  unconditional love.  I never once heard her raise her voice at anyone and always had an open door for everyone.

There are so many things I will miss about her.   She always had a meal on the table when we come for a visit no matter what time we got there (and she was a great cook).  I will miss her “skinny” pancakes, the dozens and dozens of Christmas cookies she supplied us with at Christmas time, her “Stickles” (homemade sweet pickles).   Whenever my brother and I would come for a visit she always stacked the basement with grape and strawberry pop.  To this day I still think of her whenever on the rare occasion I have a strawberry/grape pop.   I will miss the thousands of games of Gin Rummy we used to play and let me tell you she took no prisoners and I had to pay up if I lost.   She had the patience to teach me to knit and crochet and many other crafts.  We used to love to ride in the back of their pick-up truck to go watch the fireworks and there was always a party at their old farmhouse.  The farmhouse was the place I learned to fish, drive a truck and ride a horse.     I looked to her for strength growing up after my own mom and step mom passed away and I saw her strength rise up after my grandpa passed away a few years ago.     I feel so blessed that she got to meet Chris and our girls and I pray that they will be able to hold on to her memory.

Here is a picture from three years ago Christmas when she got to meet Olyse for the first time.  She loved the babies and I am so glad she got to meet our third before the dementia took over.  Today I take comfort in the fact that she is back with her husband my grandpa and she will be able to look over the family once again.

My Grandma was a devote Catholic so this is for her….

Psalm 23:1-6

The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want.  He makes me lie down in green pastures,  he leads me beside quiet waters, he restores my soul.   He guides me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.  Even though I walk  through the valley of the shadow of death,  I will fear no evil,  for you are with me;   your rod and your staff,  they comfort me.   You prepare a table before me  in the presence of my enemies.   You anoint my head with oil;   my cup overflows.   Surely goodness and love will follow me  all the days of my life,  and I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever”.

2 thoughts on “Day 105 ~ Until we meet again

  1. Babe, I wish I was there to comfort you and hold you. Your Grandma was an amazing woman and I forever greatful to meet and visit her over the years. She will truly be missed, but always will remain in our hearts.

    One of the fondest memories I have of Jennifer’s grandma was one Christmas visit, Grandma Camp had index cards or sheets of paper, and had each one of us sing a piece of the “First Day of Christmas”. And there are many others to list, but this memory always stands out in my mind.

    Everyone please say a little prayer for the Camp family, for they have truly lost an amazing woman.

    Babe, I am truly sorry for your lost. Love, Chris

Leave a Reply

